Dyson V8 Review

$378.00

7.1 Expert Score
Lots of Dyson for relatively little money, but there are cheaper alternatives.
Suction Performance
6.5
Cleaning Result
7.5
Usability
7
Design
7.5

Price history
×
Price history for Dyson V8 Absolute Cordless Vacuum
Latest updates:
  • $378.00 - March 2, 2024
  • $379.00 - February 12, 2024
  • $375.00 - February 10, 2024
  • $382.00 - February 9, 2024
  • $374.50 - February 7, 2024
  • $354.88 - February 2, 2024
  • $384.00 - January 11, 2024
  • $382.99 - January 10, 2024
Since: October 18, 2023
  • Highest Price: $424.00 - October 18, 2023
  • Lowest Price: $354.88 - February 2, 2024
Last Amazon price update was: March 2, 2024 7:30 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Last updated on March 2, 2024 7:30 am

Lots of Dyson for relatively little money, but there are cheaper alternatives.

Last update: March 2, 2024

Add your review
dyson v8 review

© Vacuumtester.com

The Dyson V8 is currently Dyson's cheapest upright vacuum. In comparison, three Dyson V8 stick vacuums are almost as expensive as the latest Dyson V15 Detect. The V8 is also mentioned in our very popular review about the dyson v15 vs gen5 detect.

I decided to buy the Dyson V8 to test it extensively. I opted for the Dyson V8 Absolute+ version so that I get many extra accessories, including the new crevice tool with light. Let's start with the Dyson V8 review.

Dyson V8 Absolute+ unboxing: What accessories do I get?

The Dyson V8 comes in a compact white box with the image of the vacuum cleaner on it. As I have just mentioned, I have chosen the Dyson V8 Absolute+ version: with this version you get a floor brush for all floor types, so that I can test it properly on soft and hard floors.

dyson v8 unboxing

© Vacuumtester

  1. Dyson V8: the Dyson V8 itself, with a horizontal dust container
  2. Fluffy floor brush: a floor brush for fragile wooden floors
  3. Motorized mini brush: a small brush for pet hair
  4. Combi accessory: a small suction nozzle with extendable dusting brush
  5. Soft dusting brush: a suction brush with the soft bristles
  6. Motorized floor brush: a nozzle for soft floors
  7. Crevice tool with light: a crevice tool with LED lighting
  8. Vacuum cleaner rod: a yellow vacuum cleaner rod
  9. Wall mount: a mount to hang the Dyson on the wall
  10. Charging cable: you can integrate this with the wall holder (9)

Suction performance of the Dyson V8

The Dyson V8 Absolute+ is suitable for every floor type, according to Dyson. We also get different floor brushes for both hard and soft floors. To find out how well this Dyson stick vacuum actually performs, I tested it on three floor types: wooden floors (hard floors), deep-pile carpet and a short-pile rug. I also researched how easily I can remove pet hair with the Dyson V8.

dyson v8 floor test

© Vacuumtester.com

Suction performance: wooden floors, carpet and pet hair

The Dyson V8 Absolute+ comes with a soft fluffy brush. This brush is suitable for hard wooden floors. The soft brush prevents scratches and streaks on sensitive surfaces. Vacuuming is easy: I experience no problems with both large and small dirt.

The soft brush prevents scratches and streaks on sensitive surfaces. Vacuuming is easy: I experience no problems with both large and small dirt.

The vacuum cleaner scores less well on carpet: on short-pile carpet, the motorized floor brush leaves a little bit of dirt. In fact, it shoots the dirt back when I try to vacuum it. By lifting the suction brush slightly, I can vacuum the rest without any problems.

While unpacking the packaging, I already discovered a motorized mini brush from Dyson. This makes removing pet hair very easy. However, the suction power (I'll come back to it later) is slightly less than with other Dyson vacuum cleaners. I notice this when removing pet hair from carpet.

  • Hardwood floors: 7.5/10
  • Carpet: 6/10
  • Pet Hair: 7/10

Dyson V8 Suction and Airflow

In addition to the floor test, I also conduct research into the suction power and airflow of a vacuum cleaner. I use a custom made vacuum tester, which allows me to measure the suction power in kilopascals (kPa). This makes it possible to compare the suction power of vacuum cleaners, allowing me to label the best powerful vacuum cleaner.

The Dyson V8 does not appear to have a very high suction power: with a suction power of 5 kPa, it is a lot less powerful than other Dyson stick vacuums. In turbo mode, the V8 scores slightly better with 14 kPa.

dyson v8 suction power

© Vacuumtester.com

I measure the airflow in meters per second. The Dyson V8 stick vacuum has an airflow of 11.6 meters per second in normal mode and 22 meters per second in turbo mode.

User-friendliness Dyson V8 stick vacuum cleaner

The user-friendliness of a vacuum cleaner is a broad concept. I therefore look at various elements that in my view influence how easily you can vacuum with it. Think of the versatility, battery life and noise level of a vacuum cleaner.

Versatility Dyson V8 Absolute+

The Dyson V8 Absolute+ comes with many different Dyson parts. This makes the Dyson stick vacuum cleaner versatile: it is suitable for all floor types and, thanks to the many accessories, can also be used as a hand vacuum cleaner.

In the package I also discovered the brand new Dyson crevice tool with lighting. I find this Dyson tool very interesting and certainly of added value: you can not only vacuum in hard-to-reach places, but you can also see the dirt better there.

dyson light crevice tool

© Vacuumtester.com

Battery life, noise level and weight

The Dyson V8 has a battery life of approximately 25 minutes. This is a lot less compared to other Dyson stick vacuums (usually between 50 and 60 minutes). However, I believe that this battery life is sufficient for the average home.

In terms of noise level, various points of sale report that this would be around 84 decibels. When I test it myself with my decibel meter I get 71.3 decibels. This is quite positive: compared to other stick vacuums, this is not terribly noisy.

dyson v8 noise level

© Vacuumtester.com

The Dyson V8 weighs 2.63 kilograms: this makes it not the best lightweight vacuum cleaner, but it is certainly not heavy either. It feels light in the hand and is very flexible.

Maintenance: dust container and filters

The Dyson V8 stick vacuum is bagless. This means that we have to manually empty it above the trash. Like all Dyson stick vacuums, I enjoy the ‘No Touch' emptying mechanism here. This way I don't come into contact with the dirt.

Remarkably enough, the Dyson V8 is equipped with a ULPA15 filter: this is the best HEPA filter at the moment. This means that there is a whole dust emission: an emission of only > 99.99995 %.

dyson filter smells

© Vacuumtester.com

Conclusion Dyson V8 review

The Dyson V8 is a versatile vacuum cleaner, especially if you opt for the Dyson V8 Absolute+ version. You will receive suitable accessories for both hard and soft floors. The stick vacuum cleaner scores particularly well on hard wooden floors and is suitable for removing pet hair.

The Dyson V8 is a lot cheaper compared to other Dyson stick vacuums. It is therefore logical that you have to compromise on various factors. This gives you a somewhat shorter battery life and the suction power is less than the V11 and the V15. For the time being, we are dealing here with a powerful stick vacuum that is quite cheap for a Dyson.

Specifications

Performance

Suction Power (kPa): 5
Airflow (m/s): 10.3
Battery Life (min): 25

Usability

Weight (g.): 2630
Noise Level (dB): 71.3
Mopping Funcion:
Motorized Brush:
LCD Screen
Cord Length (cm): -

Design

Type: Stick vacuum
Dust Collection: Bagless
Cordless:
Illuminated Brush:
Click-in Battery:
Capacity (cl): 540

Filtration

HEPA Filtration:
Washable Filters:
Allergy Filter:

Prices (History)

Price history
×
Price history for Dyson V8 Absolute Cordless Vacuum
Latest updates:
  • $378.00 - March 2, 2024
  • $379.00 - February 12, 2024
  • $375.00 - February 10, 2024
  • $382.00 - February 9, 2024
  • $374.50 - February 7, 2024
  • $354.88 - February 2, 2024
  • $384.00 - January 11, 2024
  • $382.99 - January 10, 2024
Since: October 18, 2023
  • Highest Price: $424.00 - October 18, 2023
  • Lowest Price: $354.88 - February 2, 2024
Last Amazon price update was: March 2, 2024 7:30 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Price history for Dyson V8 Absolute Cordless Vacuum
Latest updates:
  • $378.00 - March 2, 2024
  • $379.00 - February 12, 2024
  • $375.00 - February 10, 2024
  • $382.00 - February 9, 2024
  • $374.50 - February 7, 2024
  • $354.88 - February 2, 2024
  • $384.00 - January 11, 2024
  • $382.99 - January 10, 2024
Since: October 18, 2023
  • Highest Price: $424.00 - October 18, 2023
  • Lowest Price: $354.88 - February 2, 2024

Tested by

Robbert Tigchelaar

Robbert Tigchelaar

Robbert Tigchelaar has made testing vacuum cleaners his life's work. He has dedicated himself to conducting fully independent and valuable tests of vacuum cleaners to provide consumers with honest advice. His expertise in vacuum cleaners has been highlighted in The Washington Post and the Daily Express.
Vacuumtester US
Logo
Shopping cart